In my faith tradition we believe that Mary, the mother of Jesus, was set apart from her conception as a special soul destined for great things.  To that end, by the saving grace of God who lives outside of time she was born without the stain of original sin of Adam and Eve.

The priest at Mass today said that the original sin was that Adam and Eve doubted that the benevolent Love of God was enough for them.  I really love that description.  So much of our human sinfulness stems from our doubting that God has our best interest at heart and trying to take the reigns of our lives to make things happen how we want them to happen, when we want them to happen. 

We could learn an important lesson in humility and peace from our Mother Mary. When the Angel Gabriel came to her and proposed God’s outrageous plan for her future: The Holy Spirit will come upon you and you shall bear a son and He shall be the Savior foretold, Mary simply said yes. She realized that however improbable God’s plan was, His will was perfect and she should follow it.  Her response was: ” behold the handmaiden of the Lord, let it be done to me as God wills.”. 

At times in my own life I have been confronted with an improbable situation that through prayer I have discerned to be God’s will.  My first instinct was to think, this can’t possibly be, and I had to fight the urge to go in the opposite direction.  As I have said yes your will not mine Lord to those improbable situations, in fact to any situation that turned out differently than I had prayed for it to happen, it becomes easier the next time to say yes, let it be done to me as God wills. 

