Tags

Sorry about no post yesterday, I took a much needed mental health day.

Today I want to focus on the first reading from Isaiah.  I have always loved this verse, possibly because as a writer it speaks to me:

The Lord GOD has given me
a well-trained tongue,
That I might know how to speak to the weary
a word that will rouse them.

We are called to build each other up, not tear each other down.  One careless phrase can do great harm to someone without you even intending it to.  You have to be vigilant in how you use your “well trained tongue” .

Can you remember the last time you hurt someone’s feelings, or made them feel less than their best by what you said or how you said it? It isn’t a good feeling.  It doesn’t cost you anything to build people up with your praise.

I learned this lesson from my daughter Katy.  She is so gracious to service people, wait staff, help desk staff, and check-out personell.  It might be because she has worked in the service industry for years, and has been the recipient of many a bad tempered client, but for whatever reason, she treats everyone with respect.  Because of her respect for them, they go overboard to make sure that she is well taken care of and her needs and concerns are met.

It made me think about how I was treating all these same people. I wasn’t being quite so nice.  I would get angry, or lose my cool when things weren’t just as I wanted them to be, even if the circumstance was beyond that person’s control as well.  I had to be intentional about being nice, until it became second nature to me.

Try being nice to those whom you encounter today.

Speak rousing words to the weary today.

 

 

 

 

 

