Today is the one day in the Church year when we do not celebrate the Eucharist. My dad used to say it was because Jesus was in hiding today, the day of his death.  Instead we substitute the Solemn Liturgy of The Lord’s Passion.  It has three parts, a recitation of the Passion Narative, veneration of the Cross, and Solemn Intercessions.

I have included a YouTube link to a Celebration of the Solemn Liturgy above if you cannot get to one or have never seen one I encourage you to watch it. I realize it is long, but it is so worth it.

My favorite part of the liturgy is the Solemn Intercessions. during them we pray for everyone in the world; not by name obviously, but there is an intercession that covers every category of human beings on the earth.  Not a single group is left unpraid-for.

When I was little I asked my dad why we did that, I mean prayed for everybody. He said that because Jesus loved us enough to die for us then we should at least love everyone in the world enough to pray for them.

So it doesn’t matter if the people we are paying for know that we are paying for them. It doesn’t matter how they feel about us. It doesn’t matter if they don’t want our prayers. What matters is that because of God’s love for us, we have to pray it forward.

Is your heart big enough to accept the kind of love that dies to set you free from sin?

Is your heart big enoigh to pray that love forward?

Think about that today when you kiss the feet of the cross.

